Small company logo:
   History
 
 
 LC11
Home • Help • Client Help • LC11
 
Using FirstClass workspaces



About workspaces
2102006_35208_0.png Workspaces are only applicable if your organization used FirstClass prior to version 12.0.
A workspace is a shared area where users in a workgroup have access to the same resources. A typical use for a workspace would be to provide a common area for everyone who is assigned to the same project.
A workspace acts as a container for the particular FirstClass applications and other resources that are useful to the workgroup. For example, a virtual meeting workspace may contain:
•       a conference for discussions
Workgroup members can post messages and replies to this conference, so that all correspondence is kept in one place for easy reference.
•       a group calendar for scheduling meetings
•       a contact database to provide information about contacts
•       a documents container to store permanent records
•       a file storage container to store files of various media types, such as sound and picture files.
Workspaces can be created by your administrator, or by yourself or other users. All workspaces that you have created are stored by default in the Workspaces container on your Desktop. You can drag a workspace out of this container if you want to store it someplace else.



Creating workspaces
To create a workspace:
1       Open Workspaces.
2       Click New Workspace.
3       Select the template you want your workspace to use.
The workspace is created with the default name selected.
4       Type the name you want to give your workspace and press Enter/Return.
After your workspace has been created, you can open it to customize it for your purposes. This can involve:
•       deleting default applications that your group won't need
•       adding applications
•       customizing the look of your workspace, just as you would any other container
•       sharing your workspace with other members of your workgroup.
7202010_20004_0.png        Note
If you want more control over what users can do in your shared area, you can create a conference instead of a workspace, or set permissions for your workspace as you would for a conference.



Adding applications to workspaces
To add FirstClass applications, such as a group calendar, to your workspace:
1       Click Add Application with the workspace open.
2       Select the application.
The application is created with the default name selected.
3       Type the name you want to give the application and press Enter/Return.
4       Customize the application as required.
For example, you can add contact information to a contact database, add documents to a documents container, and so on.



Sharing workspaces
When you share your workspace with other workgroup members, they will see a link to your workspace on their Desktops.
To share your workspace:
1       Click Workspace Members with the workspace open.
2       Enter the names of the users in your workgroup just as you would if addressing a message.
You can also open a list of users, such as the Directory, select users, and drag them to the members list. Or select a plain text list of user names (one per line) and drag them.



Removing members from workspaces
To remove a member from a workspace:
1       Open Workspaces.
2       Open the workspace.
3       Click Workspace Members.
4       Select the member, press Delete, then Tab.
That member's link to your workspace is deleted.



Deleting workspaces
To delete a workspace:
1       Open Workspaces.
2       Select the workspace.
3       Click Delete.
All members' links to that workspace are deleted.